EU Journalist Award – Together against discrimination!

Deadline: 10 November 2011
Prizes: prizes up to 5000 euro

Now in its eighth year, the EU Journalist Award – Together against discrimination! is the only journalism competition for print and online journalists focused on discrimination and diversity issues in the EU. Through the Award, the European Commission recognises journalists who contribute to a better understanding of the value and benefits of diversity and the fight against discrimination in the EU.


Entries will be assessed using the following criteria.
1. Topic
Entries must cover a topic that promotes the value and benefits of diversity and/or focuses on the fight against discrimination based on at least one of the grounds covered by EU anti-discrimination legislation (racial or ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age, or sexual orientation).
Entries which raise awareness of discrimination based on several of the grounds mentioned above (multiple discrimination) are welcomed. Discrimination based on a person’s sex is also protected under EU legislation and can be covered in entries in combination with one or more of the grounds mentioned above.
Important: this is an award on the value and benefits of diversity and the fight against discrimination so entries which concentrate solely on the subject of immigration are not eligible. Entries exploring immigration issues must, therefore, also deal with the value and benefits of diversity and/or the fight against discrimination based on at least one of the grounds listed above.

2. European Dimension
Entries should have a European dimension. This means that the subject tackled should be of interest to, or affect more than one, EU Member State. Alternatively entries could explicitly mention EU anti-discrimination laws.

3. Ability to hold the reader’s interest
Entries should engage the reader, make him or her think about the topic, and leave him or her wanting to read more.

4. Originality
Although the stories may not be new, the way they are told in entries should be innovative and able to inspire readers to think differently about the topics covered. Each story, as well as the journalist’s thoughts and ideas, must also be his or her own and not copied from other existing sources.

5. Quality of writing and language*
Entries should be fluently written and easy to understand, the structure or organisation of their content should be logical and effective, and the ideas used clearly expressed.

6. Objectivity, independent thought and respect for the ethical principles of journalism
Entries should not be influenced by journalists’ personal feelings or opinions. Instead journalists should be able to think independently and present a story in a balanced, impartial way. Any controversial points should be treated with neutrality and fairness.

7. Research required collecting information, resources and effort taken in the work’s preparation
Entries should be the result of research and the collecting of information and resources by journalists. They should show the effort put into this research through including different kinds of information and resources, such as quotes, statistical data and sources from both sides of the story.
*Not applicable for the entries judged by the European Jury as they will be translated into English.


  • All entries must cover the Award’s topic and have a European dimension.
  • All entries must be accompanied by a completed online entry form.
  • All entries must have been published in registered media outlets from 18 September 2010 to 10 November 2011.
  • All entries must have been originally published in either print or online media. This also includes publications produced by individual companies, associations or universities.
  • The main editorial office of the media in which the entry was published must be based in one of the 27 EU Member States.
  • All entries must be written articles. Photographic or audiovisual entries will not be accepted.
  • The deadline for entries is 12.00 (midday CET) on 10 November 2011.
  • Each entrant may submit up to three entries.
  • Entries must be at least 3 500 characters in length (including spaces) and cannot exceed 32 000 characters (including spaces).
  • Entries must be submitted in one of the 23 official languages of the EU. These are: Bulgarian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish and Swedish.
  • Entries may consist of more than one related article (for example, an interview and an accompanying factual article) provided that all articles have been published in the same edition of a print or online media.
  • A series of articles published over a period of time may be submitted as a single entry provided that they all have been published in the same print or online media.
  • Team entries will be accepted provided that all major contributors (e.g. researchers, journalists and editors) are listed on the entry form and that the team does not exceed five people.
  • Entries can be submitted by a third party. Each entry however must be made with the consent of the author. Please note that this proof of consent (download here the proof of consent form) will need to be submitted together with your entry.
  • The European Commission reserves the right to use entries in presentation materials and with the media, as well as for entries to be reproduced in any form for the purpose of promoting the Journalist Award and the ‘For Diversity. Against Discrimination.’ campaign.
  • The jury’s decision is final. The jury also reserves the right to reject any entry that does not comply with the requirements of the competition. By submitting an entry, entrants accept that they do not have legal recourse to challenge the jury’s decisions.
  • In submitting an entry, the entrant accepts that he or she has read and understood the competition rules.
  • Entrants must provide proof (a PDF document or screenshot of the entry) that the entry has been published.
  • Entrants must be aged 18 or older.


Journalists taking part in the competition can win prizes worth up to EUR 5 000.
European Prizes: The European winner, plus the two runners-up, will receive prizes with a value of EUR 5 000, EUR 3 500 and EUR 2 500 respectively.
National Prizes: The winners of each of the 27 national competitions will receive a prize with a value of EUR 1 000.
These prizes consist of vouchers that can be used to pay for travel, to attend conferences or seminars on discrimination or diversity issues, to buy multimedia equipment or other professional tools, or to take a language or training course.
Winners can also donate the equivalent prize money, or part of it, to a non-governmental organisation (NGO) of their choice which is active in any field of discrimination.


Send your entry using the online form.
Journalists may be nominated for the award by another person. However the entry can only be accepted if the journalist has given his or her consent (download here the proof of consent form) to take part.

The competition closes at 12.00 (midday – CET) on 10 November 2011.
There are no entry fees.

The Official Webpage


Leave a Reply