Seven Media Foundations Launch European Press Prize

Deadline: October 26, 2012
Open to: journalists, reporters, editors, columnists from all 47 countries of Council of Europe
Prize:  awards in four separate categories, each award consisting of EUR 10,000


In 2011, representatives of seven European media foundations came together in De Balie Debating Centre in Amsterdam to exchange ideas. They agreed that encouraging high-quality journalism, in print or online, will help raise journalism’s role as a vital defender of democracy’s freedoms and as an initiator of a serious European discourse. The idea for the European Press Prize was born.
They believe that saluting serious writing and reporting – in print or on newspaper websites – can help raise journalism’s role as a vital defender of democracy’s freedoms.


In the first year of the Prize, awards will be given in four separate categories. Each award consists of € 10,000.

1. The Editing Award – For the editor who the judges believe has contributed most to public debate and public understanding;

2. The Commentator Award – For the feature writer, columnist or commentator who has done most to illuminate vital issues for his readers;

3. The News Reporting Award – For the reporter or specialist expert whose work has made a decisive impact;

4. The Innovation Award – For the outstanding innovation of the year – in print or via digital: anything that makes a significant contribution to journalism’s future.
The winners’ work will be published on the website of the European Press Prize.


The Contest welcomes the journalists, reporters, editors, columnists,  rewarding excellence in journalism across all 47 countries of Europe. They should all contribute to the development of high-quality journalism, have positive and decisive impact and help raising journalism’s role as a vital defender of democracy’s freedoms.


You can find the timetable and application procedure here.

Entries – for journalism from the twelve months from October 1, 2011 to October 1, 2012 – may be accepted after July 1st, 2012 until October 26, 2012.

Entries close on October 26, 2012. This committee will narrow the choice in each category to a maximum of six entries and make sure they are translated into English.All winners will asked to attend the first major awards ceremony and foundation conference in Amsterdam on Tuesday, February 26, 2013, at De Balie Debating Center in Amsterdam.

The Official Website 

4 thoughts on “Seven Media Foundations Launch European Press Prize

    1. on the official award webpage said: Any of the 47 countries which make up the Council of Europe are fine – though this isn’t a Council of Europe contest, or an EU one. We’ve just taken the widest possible practical definition of Europe. We though Kosovo is not part of COE, but maybe you could write and ask the organizers.

Leave a Reply