Whitley Funding Grant to Conservationists

Deadline: 31 October, 2012
Open to: Outstanding conservationists around the world
Grant: Whitley Awards are worth £35,000 GBP in project funding to be spent over a period of one year.  Up to seven Whitley Awards will be available in 2013.


The Whitley Fund for Nature provides £35,000 of project funding every year. It is now open to accepting new applications for the 2013 round of grants. Being a UK- based charity, The Whitley Fund for Nature offers grants to outstanding conservationists around the world. It recognizes some of the world’s most dynamic conservation leaders and support projects founded on good science, community involvement and pragmatism.

Whitley Awards recognize the leadership qualities of individuals working with effective teams with strong nature conservation experience. Successful applicants will be supported by a strong team and/or local NGO/organization. Supporting teams must include individuals who are local to the country or region where the project is taking place, and must contain the range of relevant skills and knowledge necessary to ensure successful execution of the proposed activities.

Who can apply?

Whitley Awards focus on individuals working in locations where international funds are hardest to raise, most needed, and will make the largest conservation impact. The strategic focus of the Whitley Awards is national conservation leadership in countries that are not defined as a High Income Economy by the World Bank (Check details HERE).

Applicants must be able to communicate in English, and be capable of compiling a written report to describe and quantify the success of their work with appropriate academic references. To gain the maximum benefit from winning an Award, you need to be able to exploit the media opportunities presented – these can often be even more useful to your cause than the financial award involved. Should you win a Whitley Award, professional media training will form part of the Awards week in the U.K.

For full review of eligibility criteria, please click here.


The deadline for application is 31 October, 2012. Please download and fill in the 2013 Whitley Awards Application Form. As well, applicants need to review the 2013 Whitley Awards Guidance for applicants.

The application will be successful only if along with the application form three referee statements are submitted in support.
Applications plus referee statements must be sent via e-mail to the following address: [email protected].

If email submission is not possible or if you have trouble submitting your application, please contact the WFN office.

For more information please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply