Association for Women in Slavic Studies Essay Prize

Deadline: 1 September 2013
Open to: current doctoral students and to those who defended a doctoral dissertation in 2012-2013
Prize: $250


The Association for Women in Slavic Studies sponsors research and teaching for scholars interested in women’s and gender studies in Central/Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia. Committed to the study of this region across disciplines, AWSS welcomes members from all areas of the humanities and social sciences. AWSS serves as a networking resource for those concerned with the problems, status, and achievements of women in the academic and related professions. The Association also seeks to improve the general public’s understanding about women and gender in these regions.

AWSS is now seeking applications for the 2013 Competition for the Graduate Essay Prize. 

The Graduate Essay Prize is awarded to a chapter or article-length essay on any topic in any field or area of Slavic/East European/Central Asian Studies written by a woman, or on a topic in Slavic/East European/Central Asian Women’s/Gender Studies written by a woman or a man.

Essays should be no longer than 50 double-spaced pages, including reference matter, and in English (quoted text in any other language should be translated). For a partial list of past recipients click here.

The award carries a cash prize of $250; the winner will be announced at the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies national convention in November.


This competition is open to current doctoral students and to those who defended a doctoral dissertation in 2012-2013. If the essay is a seminar paper, it must have been written during the academic year 2012-2013. If the essay is a dissertation chapter, it should be accompanied by the dissertation abstract and table of contents. Previous submissions and published materials are ineligible.


Completed submissions must be received by 1 September 2013. Please send a copy of the essay and an updated CV to each of the three members of the Prize Committee listed below; materials may be sent via regular mail or as email attachments.

Adele Lindenmeyr, Ph.D., Committee Chair
Dean of Graduate Studies
Villanova University
Kennedy Hall
800 Lancaster Ave
Villanova, PA 19085 USA
[email protected]

Professor Janet Johnson
Associate Professor, Political Science & Women’s Studies
Brooklyn College, CUNY
2900 Bedford Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11210
[email protected]

Professor Sharon Kowalsky Associate Professor of History
Texas A and M University-Commerce
History Department
PO Box 3011
Texas A&M University-Commerce
Commerce, TX 75429
[email protected]

Please address any questions to the chair of the prize committee Adele Lindenmeyr at A[email protected]. For more information, please see the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply