MEDEA Awards for Use of Media in Education

Deadline: 30 September 2013
Open to: candidates who have any multimedia material or programme created after 1 January 2010 for use in formal or informal education
Prize: MEDEA Statuette as well as equipment and/or software


The aim of the MEDEA Awards is to encourage innovation and good practice in the use of media (audio, video, graphics and animation) in education. The awards also recognise and promote excellence in the production and pedagogical design of media-rich learning resources. From 2010 to 2014, the MEDEA Awards are supported by the Lifelong Programme of the European Commission through the MEDEA2020 project.

This year’s award categories are: 

  1. The MEDEA Award for User-Generated Educational Media: This award honours the best entry submitted by teachers, students, learners, parents, professors, individual or organisational representatives in primary education, secondary education, higher education, adult education, vocational education and/or training.
  2. The MEDEA Award for Professionally Produced Educational Media: This award will be awarded to the best professional educational media produced by a professional company or semi-professional production unit such as a broadcaster, professional multimedia producer or publisher, professional web design company, audiovisual or media department in larger institutions or organisations such as universities, government departments, companies, multinational institutions and organisations, etc.
  3. The special Award for European Collaboration in the creation of Educational Media: This award recognises excellent educational media productions and projects that come about as a result of European cross-border collaboration and recognises the impact such collaboration can have in increasing understanding and enhancing the European dimension.
  4. The Special Prize for Promoting EU Citizenship 2013: This prize will be dedicated to an entry or production that clearly uses (multi)media to raise awareness and promote EU citizenship and EU citizens’ rights. All educational media productions, no matter in what format, be it website, video, game or interactive presentation, that illustrate, document or promote the topic of the European Year.
  5. The special MEDEA Jury: The judges may, at their discretion, present a special award to an approach or production in recognition of exceptional innovation in pedagogic or technical design.


Prizes will include a MEDEA Statuette as well as equipment and/or software, details to be announced later.


Any multimedia material or programme that has been created after 1 January 2010, and for use in formal or informal education and/or training can be submitted.


The deadline for submissions is 30 September 2013 (midnight). 

Before submitting a multimedia project or production, we strongly recommend that you read the Judging Criteria to understand what the judges are specifically looking for and the criteria they will use when judging your submission, as well as the Terms & Conditions of submission, where you will find the rules for participation in the MEDEA Awards. Read also the important Copyright Information page.

Entries need to be submitted via the online submission form HERE and sent to arrive at the MEDEA Secretariat via post, e-mail or fax before the closing date: 30 September 2013 (midnight). All finalists will be notified in the beginning of November and will be invited to take part in the awards ceremony taking place during the Media & Learning Conference 2013, where the final winners will be announced.

Further details are available on the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply