Erasmus Mundus MA in Journalism, Media and Globalisation

Deadline: 10 January 2014
Open to: individuals holding a first higher education degree
Scholarship: €48,000 for category A; €23,000 for category B


The Erasmus Mundus Journalism Master’s is a two-year, truly transnational degree providing a solid foundation for analysing and reporting global changes. Building on journalistic skills, the degree offers a unique combination of journalism, media studies and the social sciences. An international consortium of universities and media outlets work closely together to run the Mundus Journalism programme

During the programme, Mundus Journalism students will study in two European countries, with an option to spend part of the first year at a non-EU partner university. After the foundation year, students choose one of four specialisms that blend analysis and journalism in various ways:

  • Communicating Europe (University of Amsterdam)
  • Multimedia Business Reporting (City University London)
  • Journalism and Media Across Cultures (University of Hamburg)
  • War and Conflict (Swansea University)

The Mundus Journalism Consortium is able to offer a limited number of ‘Erasmus Mundus’ student scholarships for students entering the programme from 2012 – 2016. The scholarships are divided into category A and B.


Students must have obtained a first higher education degree before the course start of the Mundus Journalism.

Category A scholarships can be awarded to students from countries other than the 28 EU member states and the EEA-EFTA states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway). Furthermore, students must comply with the 12 months rule: being not a resident nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the above mentioned countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Additional Category A scholarships are expected to be available within the Windows Scheme for a limited number of students from Turkey, Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo), ENPI South (Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Occupied Palestinian Territory) and ENPI East (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine).

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any student from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Norway, Lichtenstein or Iceland who does not fulfill the criteria for a Category A scholarship.


Category A scholarships are expected to be worth €48,000 for the 2014-2016 programme.

Category B scholarships are expected to be worth €23,000 for the 2014-2016 programme.


The deadline to apply is 10 January 2014. For applying, download and fill in the Category A form or Category B form depending on which criteria you match.

The application form and all the other documents must be combined into one PDF-file. The size of the PDF must not exceed 10 MB.
The name/title of the PDF file must be your full name and the name and the application category (Category A, or Category B). For example: Hannah Maria Taylor – Category B. Please attach the PDF-file to an e-mail, which should be sent to one of these e-mail addresses depending on your choice of specialism.

They will confirm that they have received the application by sending an e-mail. As it is not an auto-reply it might take a some days.

For further information please visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply