IAPA Excellence in Journalism Award

Deadline: 15 January each year
Open to:  individuals or organizations from the Americas by an extraordinary action in defense of press freedom
Prize: cash prizes, plaques, diplomas


The Inter-American Press Association Excellence in Journalism Award has no comparison in volume and relevance to other journalism awards. Newspapers and news agencies in more than 33 nations of the Americas and the Caribbean enter their best works in English, Spanish or Portuguese. There is no doubt that the prestige of the IAPA and the quality of the works that are submitted each year give this contest world renown.

The awards are distributed among 12 categoriesinter-American relations, human rights, news coverage, features, in-depth reporting, photography, cartoons, infographics, opinion, newspaper in education, online news coverage, and multimedia coverage. Also awarded is the IAPA Grand Prize for Press Freedom, given to a person or organization with significant achievements on behalf of the cause of freedom of the press.


The “IAPA Grand Prize for Press Freedom” is open to individuals or organizations from the mainland by an extraordinary action in defense of press freedom. Excluded from this distinction SIP officials and persons employed by the SIP for special jobs.

Only those bidders will be considered journalism actually published in a daily, weekly, magazine or online publication. Therefore excluded books, essays, dissertations and other intellectual manifestation that has not been published in the aforementioned forms. The same applies to news agencies.


The winners will receive their prizes-consisting of cash, plaques and / or diplomas, during the annual General Assembly of the SIP. News organizations that sponsor the nomination of their candidates undertake to provide, within its capacity, the concurrence of the winners at the award ceremony of the awards. In the opinion of the jury may also award honorable mentions, in which case the prize is a diploma.


Papers may be submitted by 15 January of each year and will consist of papers published during the previous calendar year. Apply online HERE. Please read the full regulations HERE before submitting your application.

Please send any questions or comments to [email protected].

For more information visit the official website HERE.

One thought on “IAPA Excellence in Journalism Award

Leave a Reply