Kurt Schork Awards for Reporters and Journalists

Deadline: 31 May 2014
Open to: Local reporters and freelance journalists working anywhere in the world
Prize: US$5,000


The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is now accepting submissions for its 13th annual awards in international journalism. Established in 2002, the awards were created in honour of American freelance journalist Kurt Schork, who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone.

The prestigious awards recognize the work of reporters who seek to illuminate the human condition through courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other key issues.

Every year, a winner is chosen in two categories: the first recognises the often unacknowledged work of local reporters in developing nations or countries in transition who write about events in their homeland. The second is for freelance journalists who travel to the world’s news hotspots, often at great personal risk and little protection, to witness and report the impact and consequences of events.


Local reporters and freelance journalists working anywhere in the world may enterEntrants must submit three articles each – published between June 1, 2013 and May 31, this year. 

  • Accepted media: any print-based medium, such as newspapers and magazines, or established online publications. Blogs, personal websites and social media pages or channels are not accepted;
  • Articles can encompass war reporting, human rights issues, cross-border troubles, corruption or other controversial matters impacting on people’s lives. Judges will be looking for professionalism, high journalistic standards, and evidence of dedication and courage in obtaining the story.


The award in each category is US$5,000 to be presented at a prestigious ceremony in London (UK) on Thursday, October 30.


The deadline for entries is 31 May 2014. Online entry HERE.

For more information visit the official website HERE.

Leave a Reply