Frontiers of Knowledge and Culture Awards

Deadline: 30 June 2014
Open to: individuals, agencies and organizations in the public or private sector
Grant: €400,000


The BBVA Foundation expresses the engagement of financial group BBVA with the cause of social responsibility in the societies where it does business, in pursuit of a better quality of life for all citizens. The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge and Culture awards, to be given annually, seek to recognize and encourage world-class research and artistic creation, prizing contributions of broad impact for their originality and theoretical significance. The central planks of BBVA’s corporate culture and strategy are the promotion of knowledge and innovation, and respect for the ethical principles that characterize the plural society of the 21st century, which it views as key contributors to ongoing value creation and the opening-up of new opportunities and choices for individuals and groups.

Organizations can only apply to two different categories: Climate Change and Development Cooperation. Individuals can also participate in the following categories: Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics), Biomedicine, Ecology and Conservation Biology, Information and Communication Technologies, Finance and Management, and Contemporary Music.


Candidates shall be one or more natural persons of any nationality, without limitation of number in the case of convergent contributions to a given advance, whether due to a formal collaboration or parallel working.

In specific categories, entries are also open to agencies and organizations in the public or private sector (not-for-profit in this case), providing their institutional or organizational purpose is to undertake activities relating to climate change or development cooperation.


The award of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge and Culture will consist of €400,000, a diploma and a commemorative artwork in each category.

All awards will be subject to the withholding and other taxes prescribed by the applicable legislation, which will be deducted from the total.


Candidates must be nominated. Nominations shall in all cases be indirect from Science museums, Orchestras and orchestra associations, Scholarly music and musicology journals, R&D centers, Public agencies and organizations engaged in analysis and/or activities relating to climate change and development cooperation, Conservatories and schools of music, Hospital departments and biomedical research centers, Radio and television broadcasters running orchestras, universities, and any scientific or artistic societies or organizations.

The nominations process will conclude at 23.00 hours GMT on June 30, 2014. All nominations should be submitted through this web-site.

For further information, please visit the official web-site.

Leave a Reply