2017 Buffett Award for Leadership in African Conservation

Deadline: 30 January 2017
Open to: anyone interested in conservation, and supporting ongoing work in conserving nature or culture in Africa
Grant: the award includes a USD 25,000 grant


The National Geographic Society (NGS) is currently soliciting nominations for the 2017 Buffett Award for Leadership in African Conservation.

Since 2002, the award has honored the unsung heroes of conservation, celebrating the recipient’s achievements and supporting ongoing work in conserving nature or culture in Africa. 

Past recipients of the National Geographic Society/Buffett Award have conducted conservation research on elephants and the bush-meat trade in Tanzania, worked to ensure that local communities in Uganda benefit from conservation initiatives, developed sustainable agricultural practices for small farmers in Cameroon, and more.

Award recipients are chosen from nominations submitted to the National Geographic Society. After nominations are screened by advisors and other conservation experts, a selection of names is forwarded to the Howard G. Buffett Foundation for review. Final selection is made by the National Geographic Society.


Eligible countries:

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Cote d’Ivorie, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


  • The award includes a USD 25,000 grant;
  • The award will be presented at National Geographic Society headquarters in Washington, D.C., in the summer of 2017.

How to apply?

To submit a nomination, please complete the online nomination form.

  • Also include a description of achievements that merit the award.
  • Be sure to include details about the nominee’s major conservation successes in the face of unique challenges;
  • Nominations must be received no later than January 30, 2017.

For more information please visit the official web page.

Leave a Reply