Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017

Deadline: 10 March 2017
Open to: professional and amateur journalists
Prize: 12 winners will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, organised by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development since 1992, is awarded to amateur and professional journalists for outstanding reporting on development and poverty eradication.

Launched with the hashtag #TellMyStory, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize celebrates the best traditions of journalism in uncovering powerful and moving stories, giving a voice to those who often find it impossible or difficult to be heard. The Prize is an opportunity for journalists to demonstrate their commitment to reporting on development and poverty eradication as well as inspiring people to improve lives in their own communities.


Two types of journalists can enter the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize: professional journalists and amateur journalists. The eligibility criteria for both types are defined hereunder:

Professional journalist:

  • Holder of a valid press card (national press card, or press card issued by the International Federation of Journalists); and/or
  • Journalism must be their main source of income; and/or
  • Member of a journalism trade union.

Amateur journalist:

  • Do not comply with the above criteria to enter as professional journalists.

All entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted or have appeared in an agency dispatch for the first time between 11 March 2016 and 10 March 2017.


Winners will be announced during an Award ceremony during the European Development Days in June 2017 in Brussels. There will be up to 12 winners: ten winners for the development and poverty eradication theme (five amateurs and five professionals) as well as two winners for the special prize on freedom of religion or belief. The 12 winners will receive a trophy and prize of €5 000. One of the 12 winners will also be awarded a Grand Prize for the best piece of journalism. The Grand Prize winner will receive in addition a trophy and €5 000.

The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).

How to apply?

Applications for the 2017 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize must be submitted between 7 February 2017 and 10 March 2017, 23:59:59 Central European Time (CET).

The application form can be accessed via the Application form section. No postal or e-mail submissions will be accepted.

For more information and rules please visit the official web page.

Leave a Reply