Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2020 – Call for applications

Deadline: 15 March 2020
Open to: journalists from the countries listed below
Benefits: EUR 10,000 stipend for one year’s study


The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognize and celebrate excellence in reporting on sustainable development issues. The Prize also gives a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked or ignored. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for sustainable development. Entries to this year’s competition should relate to international partnership issues such as, but not limited to, fighting poverty and inequalities, human rights, democracy, youth, gender equality, environment and climate change, health, technology and digital, etc.


The applicants must choose one of these categories when filling in the application form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

1. Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation.

2. Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union.

3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union* or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation.

Geographic eligibility is based on the location of the media outlet where the reporting was published. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not.
For the 2020 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, entries published in a UK-based outlet are eligible if published between 10 March 2019 and 31 January 2020.
Full list of eligible countries here.


There will be up to three winners and each winner will receive EUR 10,000. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.
The winners will be invited to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 9-10 June 2020. The European Commission will cover the cost of their travels. In the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be sponsored to join the Award Ceremony

How to Apply?

Applications can be submitted via the online application form on the following link.

For more information, please visit the official web page.