

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Directorate-General for Research & Innovation



Associated Countries

Association to Horizon 2020 is governed by Article 7 of the Horizon 2020 Regulation. Legal entities from Associated Countries can participate under the same conditions as legal entities from the Member States. Association to Horizon 2020 takes place through the conclusion of an International Agreement.

By 17 December 2014, Association Agreements have been concluded and/or signed with the following countries:

- Iceland
- Norway
- Albania
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
- Montenegro
- Serbia
- Turkey
- Israel
- Moldova
- Switzerland
- Faroe Islands

All the above Association Agreements apply retroactively **from 1 January 2014** (i.e. from the beginning of Horizon 2020) except for the Agreement with Switzerland, which is retroactively applicable as of **15 September 2014**.

An international agreement associating Switzerland **to parts of Horizon 2020** was signed on 5 December 2014. The parts to which Switzerland is associated are: the "Excellent Science" pillar, containing the European Research Council, Future and Emerging Technologies, Research Infrastructures and the Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions; the actions under the specific objective "Spreading excellence and widening participation"; and finally the Euratom Programme and the activities carried out by the European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion for Energy for 2014-2020. The participation of Switzerland to these parts of Horizon 2020 and to Euratom Programme and to ITER as an Associated Country applies provisionally from 15 September 2014 and is expected to last until 31 December 2016 (this would be then followed by either full association or no association, i.e. third country status). Swiss

entities may participate with a status of third country entities in other Horizon 2020 priorities that are not listed above. For more information, please see the information note on http://ec.europa.eu/research/participants/data/ref/h2020/other/hi/h2020-hi-swiss-part en.pdf

The signature of the Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with **Ukraine** is expected for March 2015, but the Agreement will only enter into force once Ukraine has ratified it and notified the Commission. The Agreement does not provide for provisional/retroactive application.

Under the terms of the Agreement Ukrainian legal entities will participate in all actions funded under 2015 Horizon budget (calls for proposals, calls for tenders, contests, JRC activities etc.) with the status of entities from an Associated Country as of the entry into force of the Association Agreement.

Ukrainian entities are encouraged to apply under 2015 calls, however, grant agreements with the Ukrainian entities having the status of entities from a country associated to Horizon 2020 will only be signed when the proper legal framework is in place (i.e. when the Association Agreement enters into force).

Ukrainian representatives will be able to attend meetings of the Programme Committee in its different configurations only after the entry into force of the Association Agreement.

Given that the EU does not recognise the illegal annexation of Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol, under the terms of the Horizon 2020 Association Agreement with Ukraine, legal persons established in the **Autonomous Republic of Crimea or the city of Sevastopol are not eligible to participate**. Should the illegal annexation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol end, the Agreement will be revised accordingly.

Note that, unlike in FP7, **Liechtenstein** does not intend to associate to Horizon 2020.

History of changes

Version	Publication Date	Change
1.1	26.02.2014	 Updates on the participation conditions for Faroe Islands and Switzerland
1.2	19.05.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Norway and Iceland
1.3	11.06.2014	Update on the participation status of Faroe Islands
1.4	15.07.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Israel, Moldova
1.5	12.09.2014	 Update on the association of Switzerland to parts of Horizon 2020
1.6	23.10.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Israel
1.7	5.12.2014	 New update on association of Switzerland to parts of Horizon 2020
1.8	17.12.2014	 Update on the countries associated with H2020: Faroe Islands
1.9	02.02.2015	 Update on status of the association of Ukraine to H2020