

# EU PRIZE FOR WOMEN INNOVATORS 2016

## Apply now to get a chance of winning one of the three prizes!

The European Commission has launched the 3rd edition of the EU Prize for Women Innovators. The competition is open until **20 October 2015**!

This Prize aims to raise public awareness on the need for more innovation and more women innovators. It will reward three women who have achieved outstanding innovations and brought them to market.

#### The awards

First prize: C 100 000Second prize: C 50 000Third prize: C 30 000

### Who can participate?

Every woman innovator complying with the following criteria:

- 1. You are residing in an EU Member State or in a country associated to Horizon 2020, the EU's research and innovation programme.
- 2. You are the founder or co-founder of an existing and active company.
- 3. Your company has been registered before 1 January 2013.



- 4. The annual turnover of the company was minimum EUR 100 000 in 2013 or 2014.
- 5. Either you or the company you founded/co-founded have received or is receiving funding from the EU's research framework programmes, the EURATOM Framework Programme, the Competitiveness and Innovation framework programme (CIP) or actions relating to research and innovation under the European Structural and Investment Funds (known as the Structural Funds prior to 2014).

Research and Innovation

#### How to participate?

Apply online before 20 October 2015, 12:00 am (Brussels time) via the contest website <u>www.ec.europa.eu/women-innovators</u>. An independent panel of judges from business and academia will examine and select the winners who will be announced in Spring 2016.

#### Why did the European Commission create this prize?

Although women are more and more active in research, there are still too few women creating innovative enterprises. The EU Prize for Women Innovators was launched to give public recognition to outstanding women entrepreneurs and to inspire other women to follow in their footsteps.

#### More information

Check the contest rules and the application guide on the contest website <u>www.ec.europa.eu/women-innovators</u>.

#### Contact us via <u>rtd-women-innovators@ec.europa.eu</u>

#### **Previous winners**



**Prize ceremony in 2014**, from left to right: Máire Geoghegan-Quinn (EU Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science), Mark Rutte (Prime Minister of the Netherlands), Laura van 't Veer (2<sup>nd</sup> prize winner), Saskia Biskup (1<sup>st</sup> prize winner), Ana Maiques (3<sup>rd</sup> prize winner), José Manuel Barroso (President of the European Commission)



**Prize ceremony in 2011, from left to right:** Ilaria Rosso (3<sup>rd</sup> prize winner), José Manuel Barroso (President, of the European Commission), Gitte Neubauer (1<sup>st</sup> prize winner), Fabienne Hermitte (2<sup>nd</sup> prize winner), Máire Geoghegan-Quinn (EU Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science), Antonio Tajani (EU Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship)