UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi research fellowships

UNESCO invites young post-graduate researchers in developing countries with a Masters degree or equivalent, to apply for fellowships. This Research Fellowship Programme is financed by Japan through funds-in-trust dedicated to the development of human resources. The programme, named after the late Japanese Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi, offers a total of 20 fellowships to researchers. A maximum amount between US$ 6,000 – 10,000 will be awarded to the two candidates.

The aim is to impact on capacity building and research activities in one of four fields:
Environment, with an emphasis on Water Sciences;
Intercultural dialogue;
Information and communication technologies;
Peaceful conflict resolution.

Post graduate researchers, no older than 40 years, can apply through their country’s National Commission.
Priority will be given to women, candidates from the least developed countries and Palestinian researchers.
Each Member State may nominate a maximum of two candidates. No applications will be considered from individuals.

The Member States of UNESCO who are eligible to apply are:
Africa – 46 Member States
Arab States – 14 Member States
Asia and The Pacific – 39 Member States
Latin America and the Caribbean – 32 Member States
Europe – 23 Member States
Tokelau – 1 Associate Member State
Palestinian Autonomous Territories
NB: the former 15 EU Member States are not eligible to apply.

All applications must be sent to the National Commission for UNESCO of the country of origin of the candidate that will then decide whether they will submit the application to UNESCO.

Deadline: 8 January 2010
Application form, eligible countries and further information HERE

National Directory of Unesco national commissions

More info HERE

Leave a Reply