UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2012 on “Literacy and Peace”

Deadline: 20 June, 2012
Open to: internationally
Prize: UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize and UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (consisting of US$20,000, a medal and a diploma)


UNESCO has launched the call for nominations for the 2012 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2012 on the theme of “Literacy and Peace.”

Every year, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes reward excellence and innovation in the field of literacy throughout the world. By honouring the work of institutions, organizations and individuals through these Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.


Institutions, organizations or individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative programmes or projects.  The candidatures must be submitted to the Director-General of UNESCO either by Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions for UNESCO, or by International NonGovernmental Organizations maintaining official relations with UNESCO. Each nomination must be accompanied by a written recommendation. A self-nomination cannot be considered. Each Government or International NGO is entitled to nominate only two candidates per year. The files must be in English or French only.
The list of International Non-Governmental Organizations maintaining official relations with UNESCO is available at www.unesco.org


The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are:

  • UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2) Supporting literacy in multilingual  contexts
  •  UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (2)Supporting literacy in rural   areas, rural adults and out-of school youth, particularly women and girls.
  •  Each of the Prizes consists of US$20,000, a medal and a diploma. Furthermore, the Confucius Prize offers a study visit to literacy project sites in China.

Candidatures should take into account the theme of the UNLD while also considering the specificity of each Prize. The selection of prizewinners is made by an International Jury appointed by UNESCO’s Director-General which meets in Paris once a year. The Prize is normally awarded at an official ceremony held for that purpose on the occasion of International Literacy Day (8 September).
For more information about the prizes go here.


The application will include:
1. The submission form duly completed.
2. The written recommendation by the Government of a
Member State or by an International Non-Governmental
Organization maintaining official relations with
3. Accompanying supporting material.
The submissions should reach the UNESCO Secretariat either electronically or via regular mail. Candidates are encouraged to download the submission form from the UNESCO website, complete it and send it electronically to
the following e-mail: literacyprizes@unesco.org
Alternatively, candidates can refer to the submission form attached to this guide.
The accompanying supporting material should be sent by regular mail to the following address:
Literacy Prizes Secretariat
Section for Literacy and Non-formal Education
Division for Basic Learning and Skills Development
Education Sector
7, place de Fontenoy
75352 PARIS 07 SP, France
Tel: +33 1 45 68 08 65
Fax: +33 1 45 68 56 26/27
E-mail: literacyprizes@unesco.org

The deadline for reception of applications is 20 June, 2012.

The Official Website

Leave a Reply