UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize Call for Nominations

Deadline: 15 February 2015
Open to:candidates active in the field of journalism
Prize: US $25,000


This Prize was established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. Its purpose is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.

It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve.


UNESCO invites the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as from international and regional professional and non-governmental organizations active in the fields of journalism and freedom of expression to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.


Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.


Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form available on their official site in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2015 by post or by email to:

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris
E-mail: s.coudray@unesco.org

For more information please check the official webpage and download the Rules&Regulations

Leave a Reply