The MasterCard Foundation Clients at the Centre Prize

Deadline: 30 June 2015
Open to: registered organisations and direct providers of financial products and services to low-income populations
Grants: $150 000


The MasterCard Foundation is currently accepting applications for its Clients at the Centre prize of $150 000. The prize aims to find out the most innovative, impactful, and sustainable way in which a financial service provider puts its “clients at the centre” in order to promote financial inclusion for poor people living in the world’s developing countries. Three to five finalists will be invited to present their innovations in front of peers and leading industry professionals at The 2015 MasterCard Foundation Symposium on Financial Inclusion in Cape Town, South Africa. This will provide finalists a unique opportunity to showcase their businesses and work in front of this influential international audience.


To be eligible for the Prize, applicants have to meet following requirements:

  • Applicants must be registered organisations operating anywhere in the world, and direct providers of financial products and services to low-income populations in developing countries listed above;
  • Applications must focus on their business practices that better serve the poor, most vulnerable and economically disadvantaged people within any of the developing countries to be eligible for the Prize;
  • Applicants can be traditional financial service providers (commercial banks, microfinance institutions, or companies providing non-bank products and services such as leasing or insurance companies), or emerging players such as mobile network providers, IT or mobile-enabled technology companies, agribusinesses that provide financial services, or others. The MasterCard Foundation does not partner with government agencies.
  • To be eligible for the Prize, the application must demonstrate an innovative and applied focus on client centricity in advancing financial inclusion for low-income populations in the countries, which were identified as developing economies by the 2014 International Monetary Fund’s World Economic Outlook Report. The list of eligible countries is HERE.


The prize consists of one $100 000 cash award and $50 000 in consulting support to expand or reinforce client-centric practices within the winning organisation.

How to apply?

The deadline for application is 30 June 2015. To apply is necessary to create an account and fill the application form HERE.

For more information please check the official website or FAQ section.

Leave a Reply