The UNESCO Wenhui Award for Educational Innovation

Deadline: 29 July 2015
Open to: individuals or institutions from UNESCO Member States in Asia and the Pacific region
Grant: certificate of Excellence and prize money of USD 20.000 for each winner


UNESCO was created in order to respond to the firm belief of nations, forged by two world wars in less than a generation, that political and economic agreements are not enough to build a lasting peace. Peace must be established on the basis of humanity’s moral and intellectual solidarity.

The Wenhui Award for Educational Innovation, established by the National Commission of the People’s Republic of China for UNESCO, and coordinated by the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Programme of Educational Innovation for Development (APEID), aims to recognize the contributions of educators and institutions which have optimized the potential of education and the human innovative spirit to address and resolve pressing issues and problems facing our world today. For 2015, the theme of the Wenhui Award is Innovations for Skills Development for the Future to recognize innovative approaches that have helped to develop the different types of skills needed for the 21st century, demonstrated effective re-skilling and adjustment to skills mismatch, and contributed to productive and sustainable development.


Eligible candidates must possess the following attributes:

  • Have demonstrated their ability in developing innovative practices that have enhanced educational and training contests, pedagogues and knowledge to enhance skills development;
  • Have verified the positive impact of their innovations on education and training in bringing about noticeable changes in values, mindsets, practices, behaviors and skills for now and in the future;
  • Have proven their commitment in promoting and translating the principles of lifelong in skills development;
  • Have established that their innovative practices are current and relevant to the educational issues of the 21st century.

Evaluation criteria:

  • Uniqueness and originality of the innovation;
  • Timeliness and and relevance of the innovation;
  • Success and impact of the innovation;
  • Leadership and management of the innovation;
  • Quality of the supporting evidence;
  • Innovative of available resources;
  • Potential for replication of the innovation;
  • Sustainability of the innovation.

Condition of entry

  • All entries must be from the Asia-Pacific region;
  • The work must be attested to be authentic and original;
  • The innovation must be current or initiated in the last five years;
  • Shortlisted entries may be asked to supply more documents of evidence if necessary;
  • All entries must be accompanied by evidence that supports the nomination;
  • All nominees will be responsible for the delivery of their materials so their respective nomination agencies and for checking that their materials are received by the Award Secretariat;
  • All submissions will be taken to imply the granting of permissions to publish all materials and particulars without, charge to UNESCO;
  • All nominees must be complete to consent form available online at the Award website permitting UNESCO to publish and share their work, on the understanding that the work will be fully acknowledged  and credited to the relevant individuals or institutions started in the nomination forms;
  • All materials submitted will not be returned;
  • The jury is decision is final and correspondence will not be entered into.


The Award shall be conferred on two individual or institutions in recognition of their commitment and outstanding efforts in the development of educational innovations according to the theme of the year. Two winners will receive:

  • Certificate of Excellence and prize money of USD 20.000 for each;
  • Certificates of Merit may also be awarded to individuals or institutions that have demonstrated commendable innovative practices.


In order to apply you should fill in the online application form latest by 29 July 2015.

For further information please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply