Nominations for Free Press Awards

Deadline: 1 September 2016
Open to: journalists who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information
Award: media scholarship for the newcomer of the year and EUR 15,000 (USD 16,970)


Free Press Unlimited, a nonprofit organization based in the Netherlands, is accepting nominations for the Free Press Awards. The awards aim to honor journalists who risk everything to bring the news to the public, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. The awards will be conferred at the International Day to End Impunity conference on 2 November 2016 and will recognise exceptional work in the following two categories: Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.


  • Journalists who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information;
  • There are no geographical limitations on eligibility for the prize;
  • Entries from any country or region will be considered.


Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. The winner in the category ‘Newcomer of the Year’ will receive a media scholarship by choice. The winner in the category ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ will receive a cash prize of EUR 15,000. Winners in both categories receive an expenses-paid visit to the awards ceremony on 2 November in The Hague, where the prices will be conferred in person.

How to apply?

In order to apply check the applications for:

For more information please visit the official web page.

Leave a Reply