European Charlemagne Youth Prize

Deadline: 30 January 2017
Open to: young people aged between 16 and 30 from any EU member state
Prizes: the first place 7500 EUR, the second 5000 EUR and the third 2500 EUR


Since 2008, the European Parliament together with the ‘Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen’ have each year been inviting young people from all EU Member States to submit projects run by and for youth, showing an active participation in the development of Europe.

Projects can be submitted individually or preferably in groups. They should promote European and international understanding; foster the development of a shared sense of European identity and integration; and provide role models for young people living in Europe and offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community.

Previous winners have been awarded for projects such as youth exchanges, events in the fields of sports, arts or culture or may take the form of online projects with a European dimension. Have a look here to read about previous winners’ projects.


  • Young people aged between 16 and 30 from any EU Member States can submit projects for the European Charlemagne Youth Prize.


The prize for the best project is 7500 EUR, the second 5000 EUR and the third 2500 EUR. As part of the prize, the three European laureates are invited to visit the European Parliament in Brussels or Strasbourg.

One representative of each of the 28 national winners is invited to Aachen for several days to attend several events, including the Youth Prize Award Ceremony, which always takes place two days before Ascension Day, the day on which the prestigious International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen is awarded.

The prizes for the best three projects will be presented by the President of the European Parliament and representatives of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen.

Your project will also receive lots of coverage through the European Parliament’s and the Foundation’s media channels.

How to Apply?

Application should be submitted online until 30 January 2017.

For more information please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply