Women’s Fiction Awards 2018: Short Story Competition

Deadline: 1 October 2018
Open to: women of any nationality from any country
Award: 1st Prize: 5,000 GBP


Women’s Short Story Competition is back for its tenth year, now as part of the fabulous Women’s Fiction Awards. Not only will the winning writer get cash award, they will also have the prestige of being published in Mslexia, a credit shared with writers like Costa winner Angela Readman and novelist Peggy Riley. In addition, there is the opportunity to spend a week in glorious isolation working on their writing at the stunning Gladstone’s Library, and a day with an editor at Virago – an experience that money can’t buy and one that could really help you take your writing to the next level.


The competition is open to women of any nationality from any country, and welcomes stories of between 300 and 3,000 words in length (not including the title). The entry fee is 10 GBP.


1st Prize: 5,000 GBP

Plus two optional extras: a week’s writing retreat at Gladstone Library, and a day with an editor at Virago Press.
Three other finalists will each receive 100 GBP. All four winning stories will be published in the March 2019 issue of Mslexia.

How to apply?

Please ensure you’ve read the rules and FAQs before entering.

For more information please visit the official website.