Georg Forster Research Awards for Outstanding Academics, Germany

Deadline:  15 May 2014
Open to: highly-qualified candidates from developing and threshold countries who are  recognized internationally as an outstandingly qualified academic
Scholarship: EUR 60,000


The Georg Forster Research Award is granted in recognition of a researcher’s entire achievements to date to academics of all disciplines whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and beyond and who are expected to continue developing research-based solutions to the specific challenges facing transition and developing countries.

An established academic employed by a university or research institution in Germany must take the initiative to nominate a candidate for the Georg Forster Research Award. Nominations may also be initiated by award winners of the Humboldt Foundation working abroad, provided that the nomination is made jointly with a colleague working in Germany. Self-nomination is not possible.

Nominees must be nationals of a developing or transition country. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation particularly encourages the nomination of qualified female researchers. In 2014, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is granting up to four Georg Forster Research Awards.


The eligible countries are Afghanistan, Ecuador, Macedonia, Samoa Albania, Egypt, Madagascar, Sao Tome and Principe, Algeria, El Salvador, Malawi, Senegal, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Malaysia, Serbia, Antigua and Barbuda, Eritrea, Maldives, Seychelles, Argentina, Ethiopia, Mali, Sierra Leone, Armenia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Azerbaijan, Fiji, Mauritania, Somalia, Mauritius, South Africa, Mexico, South Sudan, Bangladesh, Gabon, Micronesia, Sri Lanka, Belarus, Gambia, Moldova, St. Kitts and Nevis, Belize, Georgia, Montenegro, St. Lucia, Benin, Ghana, Morocco, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bhutan, Grenada, Mongolia, Bolivia, Guatemala, Mozambique, Sudan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Guinea, Myanmar, Suriname, Botswana, Guinea-Bissau, Swaziland, Brazil, Guyana, Syria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Namibia, Tajikistan, Haiti, Nauru, Tanzania, Honduras, Nepal, Thailand, Nicaragua, Timor-Leste, Cambodia, Indonesia, Niger, Togo, Cameroon, Iran, Nigeria, Tonga, Cape Verde, Iraq, Niue, Tunisia, Central African Republic, Turkey, Chad, Jamaica, Turkmenistan, Chile, Jordan, Tuvalu, Colombia, Pakistan, Comoros, Kazakhstan, Palestinian territories, Dem. Rep. of Congo, Kenya, Palau, Uganda, Rep. of the Congo, Kiribati, Panama, Ukraine, Cook Islands, Dem. PR of Korea, Papua New Guinea, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Kosovo, Paraguay, Uzbekistan, Ivory Coast, Kyrgyzstan, Peru, Cuba, Philippines, Vanuatu, Laos, Venezuela, Lesotho, Rwanda, Vietnam, Dominica, Lebanon, Dominican Republic, Liberia, Djibouti, Libya, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

At the time of nomination, candidates must have had their main residence and place of work in one of these countries for at least five years.

The nominee must be recognized internationally as an outstandingly qualified academic (e.g. awards, positive responses to publications, etc.). The nominee’s future perspectives must indicate that she/he will continue to be an active, academically influential researcher in the coming years with relevance to the development of the nominee’s own country.


The award amount totals EUR 60,000. In Germany, research awards are generally exempt from income tax under German tax law. In addition, award winners are invited to conduct a research project of their own choosing in Germany in close collaboration with a specialist colleague.

The project duration of about six to twelve months may be divided into segments. Further expenditures (such as travel or language courses) are covered in the context of the invitation to stay in Germany for research purposes. To support the collaboration, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation may grant additional funding of up to EUR 25,000, particularly for participating in scientific conferences, additional material resources, e.g., specialist literature and scientific equipment for the nominee’s own institute, as well as for involving junior researchers.


The submission deadline is 15 May 2014.

Applicants should apply by post. To make a nomination, please use only the current nomination documents, which can be downloaded from the Humboldt Foundation’s website. Please visit the guidelines for completing the nomination on the Humboldt Foundation’s website for further information on the selection procedure.

Applications may be sent to the following address at any time:
Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Selection Department
Jean-Paul-Strasse 12
53173 Bonn, Germany

Further specifications about submissions can be found in the nomination guidelines.

For more information, please visit the official website.

Leave a Reply