The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for 2015

Deadline: 31 August 2015
Open to: professional and amateur journalists from all over the world
Prizes: trophy and prize of EUR 5,000


This year’s Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is launched under the motto “Today’s stories can change our tomorrow” and coincides with the 2015 European Year for Development. The Lorenzo Natali Journalism Prize, sponsored by the European Commission, awards excellence in written, radio and broadcast journalism on the theme of development, democracy and human rights around the world. It was established in memory of former European Commissioner Lorenzo Natali. The competition is open to professional journalists working for all different media types. New to the 2015 competition, amateur journalists, including bloggers, can also apply for the Prize. A grand jury will reward one professional and one amateur journalist from each of the following regions:

  • Africa;
  • The Arab world and the Middle East;
  • Asia and the Pacific;
  • Latin America and the Caribbean;
  • Europe.


The competition is open to professional and amateur journalists from all over the world who have written or reported on development and poverty eradication. Only one item or one extract from a series of journalistic works (i.e. one article or one radio/ TV piece) can be entered.


Two prizes (one per category) will be awarded in each of the five regions. The 10 winners will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5,000. Furthermore, the winners are qualified to win additional EUR 5,000 Grand Prize during an award ceremony in December 2015.

How to apply?

The deadline for applications is 31 August 2015. To apply for the competition please register online HERE.

For more information please follow the official website or FAQ section.

Leave a Reply