Migration Media Award

Deadline: 31 March 2017
Open to: journalists or media houses from either an EU country or an EU South Partner Country, covering migration in the Mediterranean region
Prize: EUR 500 to EUR 7,000


The current discourse surrounding migration has taken a dramatically negative turn in the last decade both within Europe and internationally, demanding a review on how information pertaining to migration is gathered, shared and disseminated among different actors, which greatly affects both migration policy and public perception. The Migration Media Award, organized by the International Centre for Migration Policy Development, is a competition for journalists covering migration in the Mediterranean region. A media award is intended to reward high quality reporting of different types of media – namely print, TV, radio, but also social media – on a certain topic. A media award also recognises media and quality journalism as an important stakeholder in influencing public opinion and knowledge about certain topics.


The following criteria will be considered for shortlisting and selecting of award winners:

  1. Journalists or media houses from either an EU country or an EU South Partner Country, covering migration in the Mediterranean region;
  2. The entry must have been published between 1 April 2016 and 31 March 2017;
  3. The content of the entry must be related to migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region; the Migration Media Award is limited to the Mediterranean region in terms of its regional scope;
  4. The entry must either have been published in English, French or Arabic. Submission of published work in other languages requires the production to be accompanied by a translation into English, French or Arabic;
  5. Each entry must be accompanied with a 300 word synopsis detailing the pitch for further production to be financed should it win the award;
  6. The entry must be accompanied by a form which, among others, guarantees the implementing partners of the award shared copyright with partners and ultimately, with the European Union, and the permission to republish a winning entry entirely and in multiple languages;
  7. Each entry must be accompanied by a brief description of circa 300 words detailing the reason/newsworthiness of the angle chosen and any difficulties encountered during the published production.


  • Tentative winners will be contacted to agree on the financial levels of support for the new production before the award is confirmed;
  • Financial level of the awards may vary according to the envisaged production and local costs: the amounts range from 500 EUR for a 3rd prize in print to a maximum of 7000 EUR for a first prize in Television.

How to Apply?

In order to apply for this competition, you need to fill the entry form. The deadline to apply is 31 March 2017.

More information on the official website.

Leave a Reply