Savewater! International Photography Competition

Deadline: 30 September 2013
Open to: amateur and professional photographers
Prizes: 15″ 2.3GHz MacBook Pro, iPad mini, Adobe Lightroom and more


The Savewater! Alliance was officially established on 9th June 2004 as a not-for-profit industry association. Its aim is to accelerate water-efficiency and conservation behavior change and water saving product purchasing in line with government and water industry needs. Savewater! also supports technology and service providers by increasing community and industry awareness and take up of their solutions.

In its sixth year, the Savewater! photography competition calls both aspiring and professional photographers to get snapping and capture the value of water in an image. This competition began in 2008 and was released onto the international stage in 2010. It is designed to recognise creative talent by capturing imagery that depicts the value of water as the key focus. Entries are judged on portrayal of the theme ‘Celebrating the value of water’ as well as photographic quality, including composition, creativity and artistic quality, visual impact and technical competence.


Entry is open to all schools and individuals.


There are three categories of entry, plus a People’s Choice award for 2013:

  • Adult. Winner: 15-inch 2.3GHz MacBook Pro valued at $2,000. Runner-up: Adobe Lightroom valued at $200.
  • Junior student (13 to 17 years of age). Winner: NIKON D5200 digital SLR camera with 18-55mm lens kit valued at $999. Runner-up: Adobe Lightroom valued at $200.
  • Junior student (up to 12 years of age). Winner: Canon PowerShot A4000 IS digital camera valued at $150. Runner-up: iPod shuffle valued at $55.
  • People’s choice. Winner: iPad mini valued at $370. Runner up: iTunes voucher valued at $50.


Application must be submitted online. Entrants are allowed to submit a maximum of three photographs, with each photograph only permitted to be entered once and in one category only. Photographs must be submitted in JPEG or TIF format. Entries close at 5.00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Monday 30th September 2013. Winners and finalists will be published on the  website on Friday 8th November 2013.

Complete information can be checked at the official website.

Leave a Reply